Regulatory Best Practice Group


EPF’s Regulatory Best Practice Group brings together the competition authorities, sector regulators and market participants in energy, telecoms, financial services and other sectors which are subject to economic regulation. The Group provides an opportunity to discuss topical policy issues and concerns in a constructive environment. Those who have addressed the group include the Chairman of the Competition Commission, Peter Freeman and his predecessor Sir Derek Morris; the President of the Competition Appeal Tribunal, Sir Gerald Barling QC and his predecessor Sir Christopher Bellamy; the Chief Executive of the Office of Fair Trading and his predecessor Professor Sir John Vickers; the Director-General of Competition in the European Union, Philip Lowe; the heads of sector regulators including the Chair of Ofcom, Colette Bowe and her predecessor Lord Currie of Marylebone; the Chairman, Lord Mogg and Chief Executive, Alistair Buchanan of Ofgem; the Chairman of Ofwat, Philip Fletcher and other leading regulators. Academic experts and distinguished consultants are also invited to take part at the roundtables and discussions. EPF is well known for its work on regulatory impact assessment on which it has completed three studies developing the best practice, most effective use and appropriate audit and review of impact assessment techniques. Seminars in Brussels have explored this issue with the Vice-President of the European Commission, Günter Verheugen and the Chairman of the European Commission’s Impact Assessment Board and Deputy Secretary-General of the Commission, Alexander Italianer.


​​Call us:

+44 (0) 203 174 3197

​Find us: 

Kings Buildings, 16 Smith Square, London SW1P 3HQ

© 2019 by European Policy Forum